Comparison
Free call scoring tools you can try on your own calls (2026)
Written by Callyst, which makes one of the tools listed. Rival facts are from each company's own pages, read on 21 October 2026. Last updated: 22 October 2026.
What free call scoring tools can you try on your own calls?
A few. Callyst gives you a one-off free check of up to 10 of your calls. Insight7 has a free tool page where you upload a call or transcript and get a scorecard. Edesy gives you free credit when you sign up. Fireflies, tl;dv and Claap have free plans built around recording and transcribing meetings. Claap lists AI Coaching on a paid plan, tl;dv's own blog says sales coaching is paid-only, and Fireflies' pricing page lists no scoring feature.
"Free" means different things, so the sections below sort the tools by what you actually get. On the pages we read, we did not find one that scores an unlimited number of your calls for free. We are not neutral, and we say where Callyst is the wrong pick.
If we've got something wrong, email us and we'll fix it. Products and prices change, so follow the links before you decide.
What kinds of "free" are there?
| Kind | What you get | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| One-off check | A fixed number of your calls scored once | It is a one-time trial, not an ongoing free plan |
| Free tool | A web page where you upload a call and get a score | Limits are often not stated |
| Trial credit | A small balance that pays for a few calls | It runs out |
| Free plan | An account you keep | On the pages we read, none of these free plans says it scores calls against your criteria |
| Manual template | A scorecard you fill in yourself | A person does the scoring |
How do the tools compare?
| Tool | Kind of free | What the free part covers | Scores your own call on the free part? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Callyst | One-off check | Up to 10 calls, scored report within 24 hours | Yes |
| Insight7 Call Quality Monitor | Free tool | Upload a call or transcript, get a scorecard; call count, length and sign-up not stated | Yes, per its tool page |
| Edesy Call Quality AI | Trial credit | ₹50 credit (about 25 minutes) on its pricing page; "30 free minutes" on its product page | Yes |
| Fireflies | Free plan | Transcription, limited AI summaries, 20 AI credits, file upload | Not stated; its pricing page lists no scoring feature |
| tl;dv | Free plan | Unlimited recordings and transcripts, 5 video uploads, recordings archive after 3 days (per tl;dv's blog) | No, per tl;dv's blog: sales coaching is paid-only |
| Claap | Free plan | 10 videos per user and 300 minutes in total | No; AI Coaching is listed under Business |
| HiveDesk template | Manual template | Excel or online scorecard, 10 areas, 1-5 scale | No; you score by hand |
Which tools score a call for free?
Callyst (a one-off check, not a free plan). You fill in a form with a work email, get a private upload page and send up to 10 calls as .wav or .mp3 files, up to 50 MB each. Your scored report arrives within 24 hours. It uses your scorecard if you send one, or our standard sales scorecard if you do not. Item scores come with a quote from the call. Each quote is checked word for word against the transcript. If no quote checks out, the score shows without one. Callyst transcribes the audio itself, so you send recordings, not transcripts. It scores calls in English. There is no card and no sales call first. It is one free check per company, Gmail, Outlook and other free email addresses cannot be used, and you tick that you have permission to share the calls. The check is a trial and does not commit you to buy. Callyst has no ongoing free plan. If you want more than 10 calls scored, that is the paid product, from $200 a month for 1 to 3 reps (Callyst pricing). Audio is deleted 30 days after scoring, and no recording is kept longer than 35 days. You can see what comes back first in the sample report, which is made up. Scores are AI-generated and can be wrong, so review flags before acting.
Insight7 (a free tool). Its Call Quality Monitor asks you to upload a call recording (MP3, WAV, M4A) or a transcript, pick a scoring template and get a scorecard you can download. You can pick an industry template or define your own criteria (tool page, as of 21 Oct 2026, free tools hub, as of 21 Oct 2026). The page says you can "get a scorecard in seconds"; we did not test that. It does not say how many calls you can score, how long a call can be, or whether you need to sign up. Its pricing page lists paid plans from $99 a month, with 50 call or transcript analyses on that plan. The same page's FAQ says there is a free plan, but the plan cards do not show one (pricing, as of 21 Oct 2026). We could not settle which is current. Better than Callyst if you want to get a scorecard yourself from a self-serve page rather than receive a report from us within 24 hours. Callyst's check also takes a single call (it accepts up to 10).
Edesy Call Quality AI (trial credit). You upload recordings in formats including WAV, MP3, M4A, AAC, OGG, FLAC and WebM, up to 100 MB each, and it scores agents against custom scorecards. New accounts get free credit and need no card (product page, as of 21 Oct 2026, pricing, as of 21 Oct 2026). The pricing page says ₹50, about 25 minutes. The product page says 30 free minutes. After that you buy prepaid minutes in rupees: packs from ₹400 for 165 minutes, or custom top-ups from ₹100. Better than Callyst if your calls are not in English or you want to pay per minute of audio instead of per rep. Its pricing page says 50+ languages and its product page says 25+; we did not test either.
Which free plans record and transcribe?
These are meeting recorders. They are useful, but none of the free plans we read says it scores a call against your criteria.
Fireflies. The Free card says "Free forever" and "Unlimited transcription*", with limited AI summaries, 400 minutes of storage per team and 20 AI credits. The note on the asterisk limits unlimited transcription to shared bot meetings, the Chrome extension and the mobile app, and the comparison table lists transcripts as "Limited" on Free. The table also ticks file upload on the Free plan. "Conversation intelligence" appears on the Business plan, $19 per seat a month billed annually (pricing, as of 21 Oct 2026). The pricing page lists no scorecard or scoring feature on any plan.
tl;dv. It has a Free plan (pricing, as of 21 Oct 2026). Its own blog says the free plan has unlimited recordings and transcripts, 5 video uploads and recordings that archive after 3 days, and that sales coaching is paid-only, with BANT/MEDDIC playbook monitoring and rep performance scorecards on the Business plan (tl;dv blog, as of 21 Oct 2026). Its coaching page, as of 21 Oct 2026 describes playbook monitoring, objection handling and speaker insights but does not name a plan. We have left out its prices because its blog and pricing page do not agree.
Claap. The free Basic plan allows 10 videos per user and 300 minutes in total, with 3 video uploads in total and no AI credits. "AI Coaching" is listed under the Business plan, $75 a month, or $60 billed yearly (pricing, as of 21 Oct 2026).
What about a free template you score by hand?
A template costs nothing and works with any call. A person has to listen and score, so it only scales as far as you have time.
- Callyst's own template. Our free call scorecard template is a CSV you open in any spreadsheet. If you later send your items to Callyst, we use your items and wording; the template's points are not used in the score.
- HiveDesk. An Excel or online scorecard covering 10 areas on a 1 to 5 scale, with N/A for items that do not apply (template page, as of 21 Oct 2026). We did not check whether the download needs an email address.
- No scorecard yet? Callyst's scorecard builder turns a checklist you paste (up to 20,000 characters) or upload (PDF, DOCX or TXT, up to 2 MB) into a draft scorecard. It does not score calls.
- How to score by hand. See how to score sales calls.
Is Callyst right for your team?
Callyst is built for teams of any size: $200 a month for 1-3 reps, $280 for 4-7 and $40 per rep from 8 reps. Each plan includes 1,000 calls per rep a month, shared across the team, billed monthly with no annual contract. If you have recorded calls and a scorecard, or a checklist that could become one, start with the free check: up to 10 of your own calls, scored report within 24 hours.
Good to know: Callyst scores calls in English. It works from recordings, so it fits any phone system that can export them. Scores, flags and coaching notes are AI-generated, so review them before acting, especially before any decision about a person's job or pay.
How should you test a free tool?
- Use calls you already know. Pick 10 recordings your managers have already reviewed. See whether the scores match. Our post on checking AI scores against your managers shows how.
- Use your own criteria. A generic score is easy to get. Ask whether the tool lets you write the scorecard in your words.
- Read what the free part leaves out. Look for call count, call length, file types, how long files are kept and what happens when the credit runs out.
- Check what it keeps. Ask how long audio and transcripts are stored. Callyst deletes audio 30 days after scoring, and no recording is kept longer than 35 days. Transcripts and scores are kept until you cancel.
- Work out the paid price. A free test tells you nothing about cost at your volume. What call QA software costs walks through the units vendors use.
- Use only calls you may share. Upload only calls you have the right to record and use, including any consent that call-recording laws require, and read the tool's privacy policy first.
What did we leave out?
ConvinceIQ. It is a practice tool where reps talk to an AI buyer. Its pricing page lists no free plan, and the option to upload existing call recordings appears under its Team plan (ConvinceIQ, as of 21 Oct 2026).
We only list a tool when its own page shows what is free. If you think one belongs here, email us.
Sources
- Free call evaluation toolsInsight7 · checked 21 Oct 2026
- Call Quality MonitorInsight7 · checked 21 Oct 2026
- PricingInsight7 · checked 21 Oct 2026
- Call Quality AIEdesy · checked 21 Oct 2026
- Call Quality AI pricingEdesy · checked 21 Oct 2026
- PricingFireflies.ai · checked 21 Oct 2026
- Pricingtl;dv · checked 21 Oct 2026
- Coachingtl;dv · checked 21 Oct 2026
- 5 best free AI note takerstl;dv · checked 21 Oct 2026
- PricingClaap · checked 21 Oct 2026
- Sales call quality assurance scorecard templateHiveDesk · checked 21 Oct 2026
- ConvinceIQConvinceIQ · checked 21 Oct 2026